A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

I’ve always wanted to be hypnotized! Could I really be induced into clucking like a chicken at the sound of a car horn while walking along the street? At the thought of sugary snacks, could I really feel an overwhelming compulsion to exercise instead of having a cookie? I don’t know. One day I will find out.

In the meantime, there are songs! N.E.R.D. and The Flaming Lips are very different bands, but both songs deal with the theme of hypnotism.

Hypnotize U – N.E.R.D.

Are You a Hypnotist- The Flaming Lips

Not surprisingly, N.E.R.D.’s “Hypnotize U” (from their 2010 album Nothing) is danceable to the extreme. The Flaming Lips’ “Are You A Hypnotist” (from Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots [2002]) is hypnotic in a more dreamy, ethereal way. Neither of them inspire me to cluck like a chicken, but both make me sing and dance and play air drums, which to me is the mark of goodness.

Leave a Reply

