A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

Well, I started thinking tonight about my 80 book challenge and I think I need to set a sub-goal for non-fiction. At first I thought 20, but honestly I don’t know if I can do it. I read non-fiction so much slower than the tasty junky novels I plow through in a couple of days. So maybe 12? One per month? That’s doable…

Any recommendations? I have several on hand which I know I want to read, but are there any you particularly loved? Subject matter is irrelevant if the book is well-written.

So far, I’ve got:

The History Buff’s Guide to the Civil War
The Vatican Diaries
Bitter Brew: the Rise and Fall of Anheuser Busch
Operatives, Spies & Saboteurs: the Unknown Men & Women of WWIIs OSS
The Great Bridge: the Epic Story of the Brooklyn Bridge
The Baseball: Stunts, Scandals & Secrets Beneath the Stitches
Cod: a Biography of a Fish that Changed the World
Kingdom Strange: the Brief & Tragic History of the Lost Colony of Roanoke
A Modern History of Hong Kong
River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt’s Darkest Journey
Something by Erik Larsen?
Something by Timothy Egan?

As you can see, I steer clear of potentially upsetting animal stories, disease memoirs, tear-jerkers of any kind. Memoirs are generally not my bag either.

In cat news, earlier the fireplace was off. Henry went up to it and sat down, then looked over her shoulder and chirped at me. I turned it on and she started purring and climbed into her bed, which is in front of the fireplace. How smart and weird and adorable is that?

In other cat news, Stripey’s BG was up at lunch. Dr. McG thinks remission is still a possibility. We’re going off insulin for a week, with spot checks, then a full curve, to see. He’s such a skinny; I hope the thyroid meds kick in soon.

Leave a Reply

