A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

Lovely Saturday here in Portland, America. The kittens and I are being house proud. Whereas that means I clean and shine and fold and sparkle things up, it means *they* roll around in catnip, watch the birds, doze with their tails over their noses, and chase toys around the house. Hard life, guys. Hard. Life.

I don’t know if I ever posted it, but we think it is safe to say that Stripey is in remission from the diabetes! He is two weeks without insulin today, and while I will continue to spot check him every few days for the entirety of this month, his numbers are good and more importantly, they are steady. I am ecstatic! I think he would trade the shots for having to take his thyroid pill twice a day, but we’re making it work. I am resigned to perpetual bite marks on my fingers. 🙂 (He’s so apologetic afterward, I can’t be upset. In fact, I don’t think it’s even voluntary biting.) He’s so spry and seems so happy, too. A couple days ago he was chasing a toy all over the house, and he has played with toys with me, too. It’s been… I don’t even know how long, over a year? since he’s exhibited any interest in toys AT ALL. This is all a pretty huge deal. 🙂

Tonight is tasty beer drinking with buddies. I am looking forward to seeing everyone, but before then, I’ve got a run to accomplish, and then I’m watching a bit of Ken Burns’ Civil War documentary (which probably means a nap is in the offing, if we’re being honest). Hope your Saturday is very nice, my friends.

Leave a Reply

