A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

What a challenging Monday this has been. Our firm lost a huge case, one which we fully expected to win. Everyone is flabbergasted, reading the decision again and again. Here’s a free little bit of legal advice, everyone: if you can help it, never go for binding arbitration. Ok I guess that’s not legal advice (IANAL), but it’s common sense advice from the legal world. Bah.

In news of the Stripeycat, as I mentioned before, the vet thinks he either has Inflammatory Bowel Syndrome or some sort of intestinal cancer. She is treating him with steroids as a first step, but the medication won’t even arrive until Weds. I have some leftover from Boo which I started giving him over the weekend just to get it going. I’m not seeing any improvement yet, but my fingers are crossed. I’m pretty stressed out because the next diagnostic move will be a $500 ultrasound to look in and see what’s going on, be it a growth or whatever. I’m trying to get my niece’s plane tickets purchased, but also am wondering what I’m going to do with her if he gets really sick while she’s here… and also, as soon as I buy plane tickets, I’m going to have to come up with more money for Stripey. It is starting to feel like it did with Boo – that everything will revolve around the cat. This is fine, it is what I signed up for, and for me it’s not an inconvenience I can’t tolerate. He’s my baby, after all. But disappointing or causing stress to a 14 year old who has faithfully held up her end of the bargain…. I can’t do that either. The money pool is finite, after all.

Trying to stay calm. I can only do what I can do, and I can make good decisions. Of course I am regretting spending money on beer-making supplies because of all of this. (sigh) I BUDGETED for the beer stuff. I have a cat health reserve fund, too, but it’s only going to go so far. UUUUUUURRRRRGGGHHHHHNNNNNNblah.

And I am getting a cold sore on my upper lip. bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh

Leave a Reply

