A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

I got an email a couple of days ago (for v-day travel getaways) which featured a list of the “Top Ten Underground Railroad Inns.” I was intrigued because it’s interesting, and the list does have some places which I want to learn more about. The title of the list is kind of stupid though, and the tone of the blurbs accompanying each photo was rather irreverent, I thought. Makes it sound like a) the underground railroad was one direct path (it was not), and b) some exciting adventure (most definitely it was not), and c) that it was an actual vehicle transporting people to a specific destination. Maybe I’m just being an ass, but I was eye-rolling a lot. The most fascinating part for me was that a few of the places were originally used during the Revolutionary War, and then pressed back into service during the Civil War to aid escaping slaves.

Does this not just go to show that homes should be built with secret rooms and whatnot? You never know if you’ll find yourself in a situation where you might need to conceal someone! (You know me, oh so fanciful.

Leave a Reply

