A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

Happy Tuesday, everyone. I woke up this morning to the sad news that my great uncle passed in the night. It was sort of expected, but I still feel so very sad for his children and grandchildren and GREAT grandchildren. They (his children) are my second cousins, and through the magic of facebook, we reconnected years ago and have kept up ever since. My great uncle is the brother to my beloved grandmother who is suffering from Alzheimer’s. She won’t understand – I’m not sure my dad will even tell her. The loss of another member of the family on that side prompts me to dig more determinedly into the genealogy of that side. There are ton of holes on my dad’s side, and not a lot of people able to fill them. A lot of it ends up being guesswork and stories when you get right down to it, but I like doing the work all the same.

This ancestral path will take me to Ireland, which will be interesting.

Anyway, we’re having a family phone call tonight, so I’m not going with Ethan after all to his writing group. After our call, my dad and I are going to “watch” the Blazers/Thunder game “together.” I’m looking forward to talking with everyone. It will be chaos, I am sure. 🙂

Leave a comment