A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

Damn Allergies are slaying me this week. The pollen counts were super high yesterday, and there’s just no end in sight. I love living in Oregon, but it’s a terrible place for a person who is allergic to mold and cedar and AIR. My doc suggested I could try the shots, but there is no guarantee that they’ll work, and they don’t last but for a couple of years, and they’re expensive, not to mention daily. I should have purchased stock in Claratin years ago; I’d be hugely wealthy by now.

Inspiration is flowing, even though I can’t breathe through my nose! The kinks are getting worked out in the story and I’ve come up with a workable “world” and rules within it. I’ve got some backstory on my MC and now I need to turn my attention toward plotting. I am going to try something new, which is to insert Something Bad into every scene, or every other scene, and just see what happens.

In food news, did I tell you guys yesterday that I decided to sign up for a produce bin delivery? I’m ridiculously excited about doing this. Matthew, my canning partner, has everything we need for doing it, so yay!


In less exuberant news, my mom has been diagnoses with COPD/emphysema…. we are all mystified by this, since she has never smoked a cigarette in her life. She did go through a pot-smoking phase there for a while, but I don’t think that would have given her emphysema, for pete’s sake. She’s getting a full pulmonary workup next week and they’ll devise a treatment plan for her. She didn’t even know she wasn’t well, so it’s all come as a bit of a shock.

Leave a Reply

