A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

Sunshine! All day! Super beautiful! I went for a long walk after doing a bunch of laundry, baking a cake, and making food to freeze for the week. Unfortunately, everything I cooked today is over-cooked, but it’s still all pretty tasty.

I spent the morning listening to podcasts, and one in particular I liked well enough to point out to you guys and share. It’s from “Stuff You Missed In History Class” and is about Laura Ingalls Wilder. http://castroller.com/podcasts/StuffYouMissed

I read the Little House books when I was a kid, of course, but I haven’t thought much about them as an adult. This podcast breaks it all down (in half an hour!) and is incredibly interesting. Listening to the podcast and thinking about the books at this point in my life of course immediately brings to mind my own homesteading ancestors. Now I kind of want to re-read the series for a better understanding of what life was like, and put some theoretical experiences to the names on my family tree.

Will any of you be watching The Turn on AMC? http://www.amctv.com/shows/turn/about
Based on Alexander Rose’s book Washington’s Spies, AMC’s TURN tells the untold story of America’s first spy ring. A historical thriller set during the Revolutionary War, TURN centers on Abe Woodhull (Jamie Bell), a farmer living in British-occupied Long Island who bands together with his childhood friends to form the Culper Ring — an unlikely team of secret agents who not only went on to help George Washington turn the tide of the war but also gave birth to modern spycraft.

Finally, on a personal note, today on my long walk I tried to address some of the seeds of panic I’ve been feeling recently with regards to “no sense of self,” “I have no actual identity,” etc etc that plagues me from time to time. I decided to go ahead and throw myself into veggie gardening/canning/jamming, continue brewing, re-start running (again, sigh), continue with the vegetarianism, and re-vamp ExplOregon. Maybe also throw in bird-watching along with the hiking and whatnot. I don’t know why this ennui grips me, but at least it didn’t topple me over this time.

Leave a Reply

