A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

My friend Sarah posted this quote on FB this morning and it sooooo resonated with me. I had to share it:

“Yes, I was infatuated with you: I am still. No one has ever heightened such a keen capacity of physical sensation in me. I cut you out because I couldn’t stand being a passing fancy. Before I give my body, I must give my thoughts, my mind, my dreams. And you weren’t having any of those.”
― Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

Commentary from Sarah: “… I have so many amazing friends in my life and this quote reminded me that I shouldn’t waste time and energy on people that take my friendship for granted or don’t appreciate me. I should water the flowers in my life; not the weeds.”

Then I saw THIS quote, about writing, and I cackled because it ALSO resonates.
“You can be as creative as you want, but unless you light a fire under your ass and shock-prod your brain-squirrels into powering the endeavor at hand, what’s the fucking point? Creativity demands action, direction, ambition. You tell me, “I want to write a novel about the persecution of magical ponies,” and then you sit there staring all slack-jawed, then the best you’ve done is committed an act of mental masturbation. Piss on inertia. Jump in. Get your hands dirty. Make something or shut up about it.”
— 25 Things You Should Know About Creativity by Chuck Wendig (tumblr)

I’m sure you all have heard about the mass grave found at a former Mother/Baby home in Galway, yes? (Article here in case you have not: http://www.thejournal.ie/explainer-tuam-babies-1502773-Jun2014/)
In 1975 some boys found a hole filled with skeletons. A priest blessed it and the hole was covered, and a local couple began caring for the site as a grave. Recently a local woman began a campaign to learn who was buried there, in order for a proper memorial to be erected. What she found was that 796 children ranging in age from babies to 9 years old died at this home from 1925-1961. This staggering number, plus the find in 1975 has led people to believe that the former septic tank is likely the final resting place for many many children – how many would there have to be for them to be found close to the surface in 1975? And if they’re NOT all buried in this one area… where are they?

I learned about this on my Irish genealogy forum, which absolutely EXPLODED at the news. It very quickly devolved into violently hateful sectarian arguing, which absolutely shocked me. I am admittedly about as American as apple pie, and I didn’t realize that the Catholic/Protestant divide and discrimination is still as actively virulent in Ireland as I know it was in the past. Plus, this was a genealogy forum, which was not where I expected a heated political discussion to arise.

So it’s all been a learning experience for me. I didn’t know about these Mother/Baby homes at all, and then to learn the rest has been interesting and sobering. I wonder why they can’t get some ground-penetrating radar in there and solve it once and for all.

Leave a Reply

