A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

Happy 4th of July!

Happy 4th of July, American buddies. The weather is lovely here and there are fireworks happening tonight.

Bodie is going to his house tonight and sweet a dog as he is, I’m going to be relieved when I know he is doing well and when Henry can calm down too. Bodie is a handful, part of which is his beagleyness (I now know that this breed is not for me, so this was a very fortuitous pet-sitting!), and part of which is just him. I really think that the whole experience has reminded me that while I really do love dogs, I really love the independence and non-neediness of cats.

Later: I am profoundly tired. Going to see the fireworks is one of my favorite things in the WORLD, otherwise I would bugger out out of my plans and go to bed at 8pm, after I drop Bodie off at his house. My god. I tried to take a nap but Stripey wouldn’t stop jumping on me (it’s too hot for snuggles) so I went to my bedroom and then Bodie wouldn’t stop whining because he could not see me.

I’m seriously over the animals.

I got veggie dogs and potato salad to have for dinner, but I am too tired to cook! I think I’m going to save all festivities for tomorrow; eating or drining tonight appears to be out of the question.

Leave a Reply

