A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

I had dinner with Matthew and Ethan and Ethan’s parents last night, which was absolutely lovely, but I stayed out too late and didn’t get to bed until after 11. Which means, in the language of the minutiae of my life, that I’m tired again today. At least my outfit is good. Tonight I’m meeting Shanon for dinner and I’m really looking forward to getting to hang out with her. I do sometimes think that exes make great friends – you know so much about them and how they tick, and as friends you can experience the “good” parts but not have to deal too much with the stuff that didn’t work in a relationship sense. It’s kind of like being an aunt or a grandma – you get the good parts and can send them home when they get bratty, hahaha. It did take a very. very. very. long time for us to get to this point, but I am glad we did. NO idea if I’ll ever get there with Griffin. I don’t care at this point, honestly. We haven’t had any contact whatsoever in months and it’s been such a GOOD THING for me that I don’t hanker to return to anything else.

It turns out that we’re not leaving for the camping trip until tomorrow late afternoon, so I’ll have more time tomorrow to finish the preparations. I’m really looking forward to getting out into nature and getting away from the tentacles of technology… I think my wrists will appreciate a break from all-day, every-day typing, too…

Leave a Reply

