A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

http://99percentinvisible.org/episode/clean-trains/
I heard a fascinating podcast today. It was about cleaning up the graffiti off of the subway trains in NYC. That actually doesn’t sound very interesting – the really neat part was about this underground train graffiti movement which has sprung up in the wake of the push to clean up subways cars (and keep them clean). Artists “bomb” subway cars in various cities across the world, and take photos, to create portfolios. There are 190 (I think) cities which can be collected in these portfolios. NYC has become one of the holy grail cities because it’s SO HARD to bomb the cars there now.

The artists do this with the knowledge that their work will be immediately removed, and that it won’t be seen by the actual public. Sometimes the graffiti carries a stiff legal penalty if they’re caught, so there’s the adrenaline part of it too. It’s art, too, not just gang shit being slapped up somewhere. These are artists and adrenaline junkies. I love it. AND, something like 90% of the graffiti artists today are in their late 30s and 40s. The idea that graffiti art could die is not out of the realm of possibility. I like thinking about my 40-year old compatriots getting their spray paint on.

Took my first WellBeYou (aka Wellbutrin) tablet today. Here we go. I decided that I should start something else today too; might as well start new things in pairs, right? So I’m going to try this “writing streak challenge” thing — and I know what you’re thinking! I am the QUEEN of starting things and not finishing them, and having great ideas which never come to fruition and yes yes yes I know I know. But I’m going to try it anyway. The idea is to write something every day. Obviously I write HERE every day, so I’m aiming for a handful of fiction words, daily.

This weekend, which is free of plans with humans, I am going to try my hand at baking a loaf of bread and also making a fresh cheese. Naturally I will report back. Now that the weather is cooling off sufficiently, I can brew again and I am SO READY. And I have some empty pods on my aerogarden which I want to fill with chives and dill. These things are soothing.

As I was browsing VRBO (Vacation Rentals By Owner) for places to stay in Maine, I realized immediately that indoor plumbing is not a given. Which sort of blows my mind, but is also interesting. If rustic is what I’m after, rustic seems very possible.

Leave a Reply

