A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

Ethan and I went to the Symphony on the Waterfront!

Our vantage point for the fireworks, which were stupendous. They fired the cannons, too, and it was so overwhelmingly beautiful. The night, the music, the smell of the river, all of it.

And when the fireworks started, I felt joyous. I had my picnic blanket quilt around me and the wind off the river was blowing my hair everywhere and the boats were tooting their horns with approval, and the crowd was cheering… I felt a part of something. It was A real leap of gladness inside, and it made me really emotional. It’s only day 1, it’s not the meds – but if fireworks can still make my heart sing, then all hope is not lost.

What a lovely night.

Leave a Reply

