A southern girl in the Pacific Northwest

“When someone attacks you for loving yourself as you are, it’s because they feel completely and totally cheated. They have spent their life changing themselves to become what they “should” in order to be happy. And in light of that, nothing is more infuriating than a person who doesn’t change who they are (and isn’t interested in doing so) and still finds that much sought after happiness.”

This quote really resonated with me, and brought to mind the various shitty things certain people have said to me over the years. Talk about a truth. I think back and every one of them was a grouchy sad shithead.

Aside from body stuff (this was written by Jenny Trout, Body Acceptance Activist on her facebook page), I think this quote works for a lot of things about ourselves that aren’t to society’s liking: being loud and/or opinionated come right to mind. Griffin once told me that when I spoke passionately about something, he got really annoyed. It was “too much.” Now that’s him being him (not actually into strong women) but I’ve heard that refrain in other places, and I look forward to dating someone who admires that I am a well-educated person with opinions I’m not afraid to share. Pam told me that her ex made much the same comment to her, that she was “too much.” The same goes for being engaged and enthusiastic with regard to sporting events. Eh. I’m not too much. I’m just too much for you. Which is fine. Moving on.

This works for life marker expectations, too. You should graduate from college, get married, have kids, buy a house, go to church/temple/mosque, get a “real” job, etc etc etc.

I don’t know, it just sort of made me think about things from another perspective.

Speaking of body acceptance, I bought a pair of LEE jeans. Which I always thought of as “mom jeans” until I saw an ad and went to look at their website. Ummmm, these are my new favorite jeans. They make my butt look SO GOOD. They do not gap in the back. They address my well-padded hips without feeling like I’m wearing a corset. And they’re CUTE. I used their “fit finder” thing: http://www.lee.com/store/LEE_STORE_US/en_US/fitfinder/FitFinderLanding.html and it led me to these beauties: http://www.lee.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=13101&storeId=10151&langId=-1&productId=230846

And they’re on sale. If you are in need of some jeans which will fit your curves, this could be your new favorite shop.

Leave a Reply

